Merle-Smith Senior Awards: 2023

June 02, 2023

On Thursday, June 1, 2023, Moravian Academy recognized excellence in academics, citizenship, creativity, and student leadership during its annual Special Awards Ceremony. 

Moravian Academy faculty, parents, and the student body gathered in Dyer Auditorium to celebrate the 2023 awardees. This year, we are proud to recognize the following students: 

Student(s) Award

Sierra Smith

John Amos Comenius Award

Michael Alchaer, Aleena Anas, Okezue Bell, John Bollinger, Olivia Cunningham, Sofia Eckman, Benjamin Edelman, Oakes Fegley, Samuel Greenberg, Gia Gupta, Rosemary John, Patrick Johnson, Eleanor Kenyon, Kaitlyn Lee, Alexander Mayer, Rohan Mehta, Tayden Miller, Lauren Pulcini, Nabeel Rifai, Phoebe Shane, Anjali Shankar, Trey Sheeler, Sierra Smith, Wisdom Unfondu, Elijah Zemsky

President's Education Award
Nora Kenyon Helena and Emma Hoch Award (English)
Patrick Johnson (Chinese), Adrian Vanegas (French), Sofia Eckman (Spanish) Dorothy Tyler Award (Global Languages)
Elena Capobianco, Sofia Eckman Countess Benigna von Zinzendorf Award (History)
Rohan Mehta Dr. Albert de Neufville Award (Mathematics)
Elijah Zemsky Physical Sciences Award
Sierra Smith Natural Sciences Award
Elena Capobianco, Charles Bingham Mary Heller Cyphers Music Award
Charles Bingham PMEA District and All-State Choir 
Elena Capobianco, Yan Yu PMEA District and All-State Orchestra
Nicholas Colitas, Michael Yampolsky Ruth D. Loquasto Technical Theatre Award
Sofia Eckman Departmental Award in Theatre Arts
Gianna Tout-Puissant, Tianna Tout-Puissant, Elena Tongg-Weiler Departmental Awards in Studio Art: Ceramics
Sierra Smith, Jewel Kislin Departmental Awards in Studio Art: Photography/Filmmaking
Nicholas Colitas, Benjamin Edelman Departmental Awards in Studio Art: Woodworking
Elena Capobianco, Benjamin Edelman Colonial League Academic All-Stars
Benjamin Edelman, Tayden Miller Heart of the Lion
Gabriel Borsuk, Moriah Mitchell Outstanding Male and Female Athletes
Rosemary John Daughters of the American Revolution Award
Okezue Bell Community Service Award
Devin Klotz Arnav Krishna Relentless Positivity Award

Aleena Anas, Charles Bingham, Sarah Connors, Sam Greenberg, Claire Martin, Moriah Mitchell, Spencer Simmons, Elena Tongg-Weiler, Gianna Tout-Puissant, Tianna Tout-Puissant, Adrian Vanegas

Service to the School

Ben Edelman, Rosemary John

Frederic Butet Award

Rohan Mehta, Tayden Miller

Frances H. Storrs Award

Nabeel Rifai, Elijah Zemsky

Elizabeth K. Miller Award

Anjali Shankar

Dr. Edwin A. Sawyer Award


Note: Employees of Moravian Academy may not nominate members of their own family for awards or honors, nor do they participate in discussions pertaining to award candidacy of any student in a family member's grade.


What we're curious about